The Collapse (My Experience at CrossFit, Part 4 of 4)

The last day sucked.

My last day at CrossFit I faced a serious case of muscle fatigue. I could barely get into a full squat, let alone lift weights or drag myself across the floor doing bear crawls. To put it simply, my last day I sucked.

After five minutes of jumping rope to warm up, we had to continue our warm up by going back and forth 50 feet, doing different feats. The first was jumping as far as possible, and then every three jumps, doing five burpees (a pushup into a jump and clap overhead). We did bear crawls, crab walks, and suicides. I was already exhausted before we started to learn new techniques.

The first of three was called a clean and press. I recommend you just watch the video.

We then learned the medicine ball squat clean, which was admittedly very similar to the clean and press. We picked up an 8lb medicine ball flipped under it, and then went from a squat to a stand, recycle, rinse, repeat. It ended up looking like this:

Finally, it was time for our timed exercise. We had to do 15 reps, then 12 reps, then 9 reps of clean and presses, medicine ball squat cleans, and box jumps. While I finished in 7:10, I felt like I was going to throw up by the last nine box jumps. When I got back home, my knees were buckling just to support my own weight. Needless to say, I needed the time off to recover.

I’m also sad to admit that following this exercise, I didn’t just want to eat a bear. I had a heaping pile of white rice. While I know I was just craving carbs, I know that glutenous products will only make me feel sick. Despite this diet infraction, I woke up feeling accomplished.

If I had the money for it, I would definitely consider joining a CrossFit gym–but it’s $150-$250 a month! With the coupon that I got, I plan to work out Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday of next week. That should be it for the time being though.

2 responses

  1. The good news about cross fit is it’s relatively easy to do on your own provided you have a gym membership and a lot of Gyms do have crossfit sessions (Gold’s, 24 hour and one or two others here all have cross fit classes)

Leave a Reply

