Sweating Blood, Dying, then Returning to Life as a Fitter Suzie (My Experience at Crossfit, Part 1 of 4)

Thank god for deal sites like Groupon, Living Social, and in this case, Facebook. Crossfit is expensive, and that had always deterred me from trying (I have seen prices ranging from $150 to $250 a month). However, through the power of social media, I came across a deal that advertised,

Two Weeks of CrossFit Fitness Program for 2 at CrossFit O-Zone in Lawrenceville, GA
Purchased Sunday, June 5, 2011 at 7:55pm from Facebook Deals
$39USD

So Christine, my now workout buddy, and I are trying this out for the next two weeks. Yesterday was our first day.

We have the pleasure of a personal trainer working with us through the introductory class, which runs from yesterday (Monday) through Thursday. He started us off with a light jog, about a quarter mile. Fine, I can do that. Then, he stretched us out. No big deal. Next he showed us what we were going to try to do as a workout.

  • 500m Rowing
  • 40 Squats
  • 40 Crunches
  • 20 Push Ups
  • 10 Pull Ups

Eying the list of thing we had to do that day, our trainer slowly introduced us to the proper technique for each work out, starting with pull ups. To assist us, we did kipping pull ups. Even with the assisted swing, we placed a block under us. We practiced with 10 slow, solid pull ups. I found that my rock climbing really helped with the strength needed to do this exercise.

Following the pull ups, we transitioned to push ups. We are starting on “girl” push ups, where our knees are on the ground, our body is straight, and chest touches the floor. After learning the proper technique, we did 10 of them.

Crunches were probably the easiest exercise that we did. It helped that we used a sit ups mat under our backs, so that we didn’t have to rub our spines against the hard floor. We lied on our backs, arms reaching above our heads. For the first five crunches, our feet peaked like mountains, and we swung our hands past our shoelaces. For the second five, we switched our feet into butterfly position, trying to reach the same distance.

Following our ten crunches, we learned squats. I was accustomed to it from 4HB, but instead of swinging my arms out, my instructor had me keep my hands reaching for the ceiling, so as to keep my chest open. Ten squats later, we moved to the rowing machine.

Rowing sucks.

Okay, it’s not that terrible, but I definitely prefer running to rowing.

Woosh. We went 100 meters.

Okay, so we had finally covered pull ups, push ups, sit ups, squats, and rowing. It was time to do it all as fast as possible.

  • 500m Rowing
  • 40 Squats
  • 40 Crunches
  • 20 Push Ups
  • 10 Pull Ups

My time was 9 minutes and some odd seconds. Frankly though, I was just happy to have been able to do all of these exercises in a row. I took breathers, particularly for moving from rowing to squats. I would say that my first crossfit experience was not easy, but it was satisfying.

Today, my legs feel like jello. My arms are sore, and I can’t believe I have to go back tonight. I am both dreading the workout but looking forward to the feeling of accomplishment. Hopefully my time will improve this time :).

Have you ever tried Crossfit?

2 responses

Leave a Reply

