Okay So, It’s Been A Few Weeks (and Cow Tongue Too)

Vacation, doing a bit of work, and general laziness have all deterred me from updating this blog. Never fear, dear readers, I’m back!

I went out and bought three books on Paleo and Primal eating. Currently I’m reading The Primal Blueprint by Mark Sisson over at Mark’s Daily Apple. His blog is fantastic; I highly recommend checking it out! I also purchased The Paleo Solution by Robb Wolf and The Paleo Diet by Loren Cordain. All of these books are “classics” in the online paleo community, so if you haven’t read them, definitely check them out.

I’ve also decided that I am done counting days that I am on this diet/lifestyle/whatever, because unlike 4HB, I’m really enjoying the food that I am eating. I want this change to be permanent. Nevertheless, I plan to update every day with new recipes, thoughts, insights, and maybe a bit of food journaling.

The first recipe I bring you is: delicious cow tongue. It’s what we had for dinner last night, for lunch today, and dinner again tonight. This fatty and protein enriched meat is pretty cheap and feeds two for a while.

Nooooom

Simple Cow Tongue

Ingredients:
– 1 beef tongue (typically between 2-3lbs)
– 1 onion
– 1 tbsp peppercorns
– 1 bay leaf
– 1 carrot stick
– 1 celery stick
– Salt, to taste

Prep time: 10 minutes
Cooking time: 3.5-4 hours

  1. Peeling the tongue

    Thoroughly rinse the tongue in cool water. Place into a large pot.

  2. Fill the pot with just enough water to cover the tongue. Add the onion, peppercorns, carrot, bay leaf, and celery. Cover the pot and heat until the broth starts to simmer. Leave it be for 3.5-4 hours.
  3. Remove the beef tongue from the broth (and save the liquid for reheating the tongue, broth, steaming veggies, you name it!) and allow it to cool on a cutting board. Once the tongue is cooled, peel all of the skin off the tongue. The skin can go back into the broth if you’re saving it.
  4. Slice, salt to taste, and serve!
Until tomorrow,
xx
Suzie
2 responses

    • Actually, just so Jewish :P. I was thinking of you when I made it; it’s cheap, delicious, soft beef! But it’s a fattier cut, which might not be 100% paleo friendly (but definitely primal).

Leave a Reply

