It’s Been 2 Months

Hey 4HB folks!

It’s been 2 months since I threw down my last bean and screamed, “I’ve had enough!” I left the 4HB project, swearing to never look at another taco salad or stir fry ever again, and hoping for a new beginning. I had hit 124.4 lbs, and hoped to keep it there.

Now, two months (or 57 days later), I have gained 5lbs. Not horrible, not unmanageable, but after realizing it takes three weeks to lose just 5lbs, it’s still somewhat depressing. I don’t want to continue gaining weight, but 4HB is not sustainable for me. I need something new. Before I go into the paleo diet, I first want to highlight what I have kept from 4HB that likely has slowed the weight gain.

  1. High protein breakfasts within the first hour of waking. Okay, they are perhaps not as high as they should be. I eat two whole eggs and an egg white every morning, which is about 18g protein, as opposed to the prescribed 20g-30g. Clearly, I need more bacon. 
  2. No milk. If 4HB taught me ANYTHING, it’s that I’m lactose intolerant. Very intolerant. Bleh.
  3. No pasta and few grains. I have definitely grown an addiction to Nature Valley bars (the ones I can eat with my nut allergy)

I’m not doing cheat days, because there’s no real diet to “cheat” from. However, that’s not to say I haven’t been bad. For example, last night I had delicious Chinese food with delicious sugary sauce and delicious glutinous rice. And the day before: Mexican! Why do they bring me chips when they know I have no willpower? Why?

Pure delicious evil.

(My inability to say “no” is probably why I’m gaining a few, btw).

Luckily, in the realm of exercise, I’ve been doing pretty well. I’ve been running more and climbing about 2-3x a week, though I wish I could do more. Once again, I suspect that exercise has been keeping me from gaining at a more rapid pace.

At any rate, I want to go back to being more health conscious, which is why I have decided to switch to a paleo diet.

The Paleo Diet

The Paleo Diet was recently ranked 20th (out of 20…. ouch) by US News as a “Best Diet Overall.” I’m sure that 4HB would have sunk even lower if they were compared at the same standards. Paleo was criticized for being grainless and dairyless, which, hey, I’m pretty used to! Okay, so by the food pyramid’s standards, paleo isn’t that great an idea, but we threw out the food pyramid a while ago, didn’t we?

Oh them grains so tasty!

Basically, the paleo lifestyle emphasizes eating what people would have eaten in the paleolithic/hunter-gatherer era. As in the era before people figured out how to properly prepare and eat potatoes, grains, and beans. These foods are to be avoided entirely, along with dairy and sugar. That’s right folks. No more beans!

What I should eat includes:

  1. Meat, chicken and fish
  2. Eggs
  3. Fruit
  4. Vegetables (especially root vegetables, but definitely not including potatoes or sweet potatoes)
  5. Berries- strawberries, blueberries, raspberries etc.

Okay, so it doesn’t sound like a whole lot, but actually it provides me with a ton of liberty. including delicious applesauce and coconut flour inspired desserts, fruit during the day, and lots and lots of light salads with homemade salad dressings. This diet is not as simple as 4HB, but I’m sure I’ll get the hang of it as I go on.

Today, I go grocery shopping. Tomorrow, it all begins.

Until tomorrow loyal bloggers,
Suzie

3 responses

  1. Paleo is the way to go!

    It has a high “learning curve” as it were. I had a hard time at the beginning trying to figure out how and what to cook, but after a while you get it figured out!

    Good luck, Suzie. See you on the blogosphere.

  2. Yeah there is definitely a LOT to learn! I really wish my local library had some books on paleo, but I might suck it up and just buy some. Any recommendations? I was looking at:

    – The Paleo Diet: Lose Weight and Get Healthy by Eating the Food You Were Designed to Eat by Loren Codain
    – The Paleo Solution by Robb Wolf
    – Neanderthin by Ray Audette

    Have you read any of these guys? Thoughts?

Leave a Reply

