Psychological Flow (Day 37)

Tonight, I went to a Last Lecture performed by Dr. Hughes at Agnes Scott. Her lecture was about happiness and positive psychology. Having never had a class with her (or any psychology class), I was introduced to the concept of flow.

Flow in my artwork (blind contour)

Flow, a la wikipedia, is the mental state of operation in which a person in an activity is fully immersed in a feeling of energized focus, full involvement, and success in the process of the activity. Basically it’s the psychological state of getting so into an activity that you don’t notice the outside world. The more flow, the more happiness.

I dig flow. In fact, I dig it a lot. I get flow when I get really into a challenging video game, get lost in writing a paper, and mostly while working on my artwork.

This doesn’t have a whole lot to do with my diet, but rather my conscientious lifestyle change. I feel pretty happy now, and I think it’s because I’ve made time for myself and for flow. Now that I’m aware of it, I’m going to try to incorporate more flow into my life :).

As for working out, I redid Day 1 of Max Capacity Training because I didn’t record my original results. After doing this again, I’m actually feeling a little sore, especially in my quads and in my abs. So that you know, these numbers aren’t an average, it’s just the first round of four. I don’t think that I’m capable of doing 80 pushups in any amount of time!

Pain in numbers

I just peaked at Day 2 exercises. I’m not so looking forward to “elevated pushups.” Either way, we’ll see. Climbing again on Friday! I refuse to be sore, I demand to be fit!

Awkward diet moment: I’ve learned my social networking lesson for the day. I’ve been friends with my boss on Facebook for about three years now, and I’ve been posting entries from this blog on there. Needless to say, he asked me about it this morning, insisting that I “looked fine” etc etc. Once I explained the situation to him (he literally said “Fifteen pounds in one term??“), he became refreshingly supportive. His positive reaction was a nice surprise.

Food for today:

Eggs, beans, and bacon (Breakfast).

Chicken, lentils, spinach, and crab meat (late lunch/early dinner).

2 slices of bologna (Dinner/Snack).

Jello (Dinner/Snack).

Totals for Day 37

Until tomorrow,
xx
Suzie

7 responses

  1. Bah. In the end your opinion (so long as you don’t have an eating disorder) is the only one that matters. You are the one who knows your body, what it needs, and what you want from it.

    But it is weird when the bosses get in on it. I’ve been kinda iffy about posting my stuff on facebook, knowing a few professional contacts are friends with me there. But I also feel like… I don’t have anything to hide, and I don’t put anything on my blog that I’m not comfortable talking about in person. I’m proud and people should be proud for me.

    Also, I was really surprised to see the (Day 37) on your title. For some reason it doesn’t seem like that long. Good for you!!! 😀

    • Yeeeaaahhh DL saying that did make me a bit awkward, but because he differed from “my female employee is dieting therefore she must have poor body image issues” to “I’m going to be supportive of your quest,” I don’t mind so much. It took me a while to start posting on Facebook too for this very reason.

      And BELIEVE ME, it’s day 37. I have 36 previous days to prove it :P.

    • Sugar free jello is excellent for the end of the day when you’re craving something sweet. Strawberry is a personal favorite <3.

      "Flow" is the same as "the zone" in sports, I think, where nothing else matters but you and the moment and pushing through that particular challenge.

Leave a Reply

