Emotional Restructuring and my Harajuku Moment (Day 16)

As I was eating lunch today, I swallowed my handful of pills and quickly took a picture of my food. The girl across from me leered as my camera phone made the distinctive click as I held it over my taco salad. “Did you just take a picture of me?” She asked, one eyebrow raised. I awkwardly responded, “No. I’m photographing my food” and offered no further explaination.

This diet makes you look a little silly. Air squats in the bathroom? Guilty. Swallowing ten additional pills a day to the four pills I have to take anyways? Doing it. Looking for the 1:00 special spot on my… we won’t go there.

Either way, there have been moments where this diet has not been easy. However, one thing that I have noticed is that I’ve become a more amicable person. I haven’t struggled with hypoglycemia at all during the day and I’m finding that I have more patience (weird, right?) in just about everything I do.

You go Mom!

You go Mom!

Right now, my mom is going through an emotional restructuring. She doesn’t have a job, nor does she feel the pressure to get one. She does Tai Chi daily, is a newly reformed vegan, participates in karate with her 10-year-old son, and is addressing all aspects of her emotional and spiritual self. Mom has become a happier person. I can tell that she is in love with her transition, though it took me a while to get used to her changes myself.

And though I’m not living her life, I feel as though her changes have rubbed off on me a bit. Last semester, I was working between 75 and 90 hours a week. I broke down in October, but charged forward, refusing to abandon any of my responsibilities. I made it out alive with a 3.75/4.00 GPA and several accomplishments that I am still proud of. However, I also stopped spending time with a lot of my friends, only went to one party — my own — throughout the whole semester, and gained 15 pounds complimented with oversensitive allergies, migraines, and general unhappiness.

Academically, I consider last semester a success. However, emotionally I hit rock bottom. In a weird way, when winter break began, I had my Harajuku moment. I was miserable.

I found that in order to be happy, I would need to start taking care of my body. Jobs, grades, and all my stresses aren’t going to matter in five years because there’s no way I’m going to hit rock bottom in my career at this point; I needed to stop worrying! As someone who was a longtime follower of Tim Ferriss’s blog because I was interested in finance, his release of 4-Hour Body came at a perfect time. I pre-ordered the small encyclopedia, read my relevant chapters, and the rest is history as detailed through this blog.

As my body is becoming healthier, I am becoming happier. I had my first chiropractic adjustment since the summer, and that has picked me up despite the heavy rains that slammed Atlanta today. The diet is a giant first step in my quest for the emotional, physical, and spiritual health that my Mom is also seeking.

Thank goodness I’m doing something. Being restrictive on this diet is sometimes tough (and sometimes ridiculous), but the emotional and physical rewards make every bite of beans worth it.

That said, my day:

 

Four hard boiled eggs (two with yolks) and black bans (Breakfast).

Taco salad (Lunch).

Refried beans, steamed veggies, and chicken thigh (Dinner).

Totals for Day 16

Until tomorrow,
xx
Suzie

6 responses

  1. Nice post!

    I don’t know when my moment was — I’ve been into diet and exercise for a very, very long time.

    But Ferriss is indeed a major role model in my life. He’s the reason I’ve become a Digital Nomad, in fact!

    What do you use to track your food? I know we’re not counting calories here in the 4HB world, but that does seem a bit low …

    • I’m using SparkPeople, which is a free calorie counter. Though it would seem low for an average male, I’m only 5’1––VERY short!––which means I needed around 1800 calories a day just to maintain my start weight (in other words, it’s really easy for me to gain).

      Also, what on earth is a digital nomad??

      • Ah, well – that does put it into perspective!

        Have you read Tim’s first book, The 4-Hour Workweek? That’d explain what a Digital Nomad is.

        Or you could just go to my blog 😉

        OR

        Wait, you already know – cause Tim is one.

        Basically a Digital Nomad is someone who maintains uses technology to live a location independent lifestyle.

      • Ooh haha. I should have guessed. I haven’t read 4HWW, I’ve only been reading Ferriss’s blog. I can’t remember him using that term, but I probably just didn’t catch it. 🙂

        I’ve seen your blog; no worries, I was already RSS subscribed 😛

  2. With all those eggs, you are making me miss our chickies! You are right about weight loss not being an end unto itself; it is part of a much greater journey. I think that the more people appreciate and implement the ‘bigger picture’, the more chance of success they have to maintain weight loss after the diet portion comes to an end.

  3. Pingback: Where I’ve Been & Diet Progress (Days 72-77) « Waist and Taste

Leave a Reply

