Returning to College (Day 10!)

Today is my 10th day on the 4-HB diet! Though I’m still adjusting to the cost of food (the idea that this diet is “cheaper” is rubbish) and occasionally get cravings for chocolate (especially this week), I’ve grown quite fond of my changed lifestyle. At least I did, until spring semester started back up today. Today has been the hardest day to be on this diet to date.

There is so much free food available at college! Within the past ten hours, I have turned down:

  • Sugar cookies with icing
  • Rose wine
  • Two different kinds of cupcakes
  • Peppermint candies
  • Hershey’s kisses

I was good... I didn't eat it!Not to mention all of the goodies in our dining hall! It is no wonder college students are fat, especially in the south (today was fried chicken and pizza day in the cafeteria).

Despite how bad for everyone all of those foods are, I really found myself struggling to say “no.” Not only could I taste the sweet sugar drizzling into my belly, but I also didn’t want to be rude. Turning down wine that someone brings into class to share isn’t exactly polite, and leaving the class to further resist temptation (which I did) definitely didn’t help either. I’d have to say that today was one of the hardest days on my diet thus far.

Another contributing factor is that I chose today to not take my supplements (we’re supposed to take one day off per week). I haven’t been hungry per say, but I haven’t exactly been in a fantastic mood, and I’m starting to get that dull headache that many 4HB followers are complaining about. Unfortunately, I’ve also been biting my nails more, and that’s a habit I have wanted to break since before I can remember. Ugh.

There are two more contributing factors that have made 4-Hour Body particularly difficult today. One is that my phone wasn’t working (just fixed the problem) so I couldn’t take pictures of my meals, and two, one of the bloggers that I follow quit the 4HB today after getting terrible results.

Despite everything, I am NOT giving up. I am still getting some great results from this diet and, aside from today I’ve been feeling pretty good. Plus, I have my mom to keep me motivated (though she is doing a different diet) :).

That said, I kicked my ass into gear and worked out my lower body today (no cardio—that’s now Mondays, Tuesdays, and Fridays). Though I can feel the workout, it isn’t painful. Progress!

Leg Workout

Sadly, because my phone hadn’t been working all day I only got to take a picture of my dinner. Observe:

Faux potato soup leftovers, spinach, pinto beans, and a little bit of balsamic vinegar (Dinner)

As happily noted, my calories are back up over 1200, so I’m not worried about that anymore! ONWARDS WITH 4-HB!

xx
Suzie

3 responses

  1. You can do it!

    Sometimes I think that I am lucky that I’ve been sick and not able to eat anything the past few days. A couple of hints:

    1) Out of sight, out of mind. Usually when there’s something “bad” in the room, I just won’t look at it. It doesn’t help to stare and salivate. The same thing goes for the stuff in Evans. Just keep your head straight and walk on by

    2) Are you allowed to chew gum? A lot of the time gum can have that sweet flavor you’re craving for and be like… two calories.

    I’m hella proud of you for resisting! It’s gonna be hard, but after a while you won’t crave it! Remember how bad your cheat day was. 🙂

Leave a Reply

