How to Make a Potato Soup Without Potatoes (Day 8)

Today was a great, healthy day filled with protein and exercise and low-carb goodness!

Breakfast included scrambled eggs, salsa, white kidney beans, mixed veggies, and turkey bacon

Lunch was just leftover turkey taco salad

Following lunch, I worked out. I would have to say that I’m a bit more successful, and I’m happy to have Andrew, my running buddy. Though he’s a bit more in shape than me, he pushed me to increase my time and even sprint for a minute at the end. In 20 minutes, I did 1.68 miles. Following the jog, I did upper body strength training. My arms are tired!

Arm workout

Dinner was an experiment… a successful experiment. Taking the faux-mashed potato recipe, I added shrimp and some water to make a stew. It was delicious!

4HB Faux Potato Stew with Shrimp

Ingredients:

1 Can Beans, great northern
2 Cans Bush’s Best White Kidney Beans
1 lb Frozen Shrimp
1C mixed vegetables (I just use leftovers)
2.5C Water
Salt, pepper, and garlic powder to taste
Olive oil

Directions:

Cut vegetables and prepare shrimp for cooking.

Pour a little olive oil into a pan. Mix all beans into the pan and mash like potatoes, slowly adding the water (leaving 1 C for the end). Mix in the veggies and shrimp. When shrimp starts to pink, add the rest of the water and bring to a boil. Let simmer for 5 minutes, and season to taste (I like a lot of garlic powder). Serve.

Number of Servings: 8

My first bowl...

...and second for dinner

My totals today were low but I’m not worried because I’m still recovering from Saturday’s binge.

Totals Day 8

2 responses

Leave a Reply

