Discouraged Already (End of Day 3)

I suppose it’s normal to have ups and downs with a diet, but I have been on the 4HB for three. Days. Three days. I love the food and I’m not craving carbs at all (though I am getting some), but the act of preparing and paying for everything is incredibly time consuming and expensive.

The fact that I am sore from exercising is probably what is making me so grumpy. After being able to do 7/8 minute miles pretty easily a year ago, I am huffing and puffing. From 1.5 miles. In 22 minutes. Yikes. I am stopping a lot to walk, not even holding full speed for .2 of a mile, and am using worse and worse posture as the time dwindles on. I need some pep, people! I need to get back into shape!

After running, strength training my lower body was m.u.r.d.e.r. Luckily I have tomorrow off.

Lower body workout

Food is an entirely other matter. Today I went out to Whole Foods and Walmart to resupply… and ended up with an $100 grocery bill. Yikes! I thought this diet was supposed to be less expensive!

The Shopping Lists

Luckily the food I ate was good :).

Taco Salad (Lunch)

Faux mashed potatoes (this time with great northern beans) and beef stir fry

4-Hour Body Beef Stir Fry
1/4C Soy Sauce
1.5T Balsamic vinegar
10 oz lean beef, sliced into edible strips
10 chopped baby carrots
10 flowerets of cauliflower
1/2 Vidalia onion
1 green pepper
1 package Sunbird Stir Fry Seasoning Mix
Olive oil

Chop all vegetables into edible morsels. In a stir fry pan, head the olive oil. Then, sear the beef until you can’t see any pink on the outside. Slowly add the vegetables in the following order: onions, baby carrots, cauliflower, green pepper. In a separate bowl, mix the stir fry mix, balsamic vinegar, and soy sauce. Once a smooth thin sauce, pour into pan and stir fry for 3-4 minutes. Enjoy!

 

 

Daily final totals

3 responses

  1. Preparing actual meals is a wall that I’m running into also. Usually when I eat it takes like 30 min tops to fix something, as opposed to actually having to prepare and cook your own meals from scratch is a big bother when you do it all the time. That is part of the reason, I think, that I haven’t been eating as much. There’s nothing quick right there for me to snack on, and every meal is a hassle.

    That is also why I like leftovers. 😀

  2. The food prep time is a biggie. Consider buying a carton of egg whites for your egg white omelets. Good thinking not buying everything at whole foods.

    • Egg white cartons are more expensive than buying the eggs themselves, and it’s not egg whites that are time consuming. The problem is that we don’t have a microwave, so we have to reheat everything on the stove and then clean up after every meal.

Leave a Reply

