The Great Taco Salad (Day 1 Lunch)

Lesson learned: check serving sizes. After buying the ingredients for taco salad, I realized the recipe that I based my list off of served eight people. So… I have enough taco salad makings for 32 meals. Tim Ferriss recommends eating the same meal over and over, so I guess we don’t have a choice. Nonetheless, the recipe turned out quite well if I do say so myself!

Bowl One

Ingredients

1 pound lean ground beef
1 (1.25 ounce) package taco seasoning
1 (16 ounce) can chili beans
1 head iceberg lettuce
1 cup chopped tomatoes
4 tablespoons Better Than Sour Cream [Tofutti]
1/2 cup prepared salsa

Directions

In a large skillet over medium-high heat, brown the ground beef and drain excess fat. Stir in the taco seasoning, chili beans and 2/3C water. Bring to a boil, reduce heat and simmer for 15 minutes–add more water

Bowl Two

if the beef starts to stick.

Mix the lettuce and tomatoes in a large bowl. When the meat mixture is done, combine it with the salad. Then, add salsa and faux sour cream.

Number of Servings: 8

So 1.5 delicious bowls later, I finished my lunch. I was quite hungry after a breakfast that had less than 300 calories, so this ginormous lunch came as a great relief. I’m going to try and go jogging in a few hours, but I don’t know if I can get to the gym given Atlanta’s weather conditions. Haha, I’m already making excuses not to exercise. I wish there were a cheap way to try out kettlebells without buying them for myself!

Calories/Carbs/Fat/Protein

6 responses

  1. I wish I had seen this sooner. Taking a walk outside, especially right now, would be great exercise, esp for your legs. Punching your feet through all that ice and snow and propelling yourself forward is especially challenging. You don’t notice it at first, but your legs start to burn after a while. lol I definitely went for a walk today and I was like “okay, exercise for the day OVER.”

  2. Pingback: Beans beans beans (End of Day 7) « Waist and Taste

  3. Pingback: 4 Hour Body: Week 4 | Nick Momrik

Leave a Reply

